Richmond Home
Chemistry is the study of matter and the transformations that occur in material things. It is one of the basic sciences, and it is fundamental to the study of all other basic sciences.
Faculty Members with External Research Grants
Student Co-authored Publications in The Past 5 Years
Undergraduates Performing Research during 2014-2015 School Year
Student Presentations at Regional or National Meetings Last Year

Faculty Highlights

  • Gupton Article

    Chemistry professor John Gupton, along with biology professors Omar Quintero and Krista Stenger and several student collaborators, published “Effects of a Novel Microtubule-depolymerizer on Pro-inflammatory Signaling in RAW264.7 Macrophages”, in Chemico-Biological Interactions.

  • Donald Named CUR Councilor

    Dr. Kelling Donald has been voted to serve a three year term as a Councilor for the Council on Undergraduate Research. 

  • Downey Grant

    Dr. Wade Downey has been awarded a grant for summer research from Organic Syntheses, Inc. for his project, “Rapid Construction of Furans from 3-Silylated Propargyl Carboxylates.”

  • Donald Article Chemistry associate professor Kelling Donald and two undergraduate coauthors published, "Coordination and Insertion: Competitive Channels for Borylene Reactions” in the Journal of Physical Chemistry.
  • Parish Article

    Dr. Carol Parish, with collaborators from Middlebury College and the University of Colorado, published "Modeling Oil Shale Pyrolysis: High-Temperature Unimolecular Decomposition Pathways for Thiophene," in the Journal of Physical Chemistry.

  • Parish Named Distinguished Educator

    Dr. Carol Parish received the 2017 University of Richmond Distinguished Educator Award at this year's Colloquy.

  • Chemistry Faculty at ACS Meeting

    Chemistry professors Kelling Donald, Jeffrey Seaman, and Carol Parish recently presented at the American Chemical Society's Symposium honoring Nobel Laureate Roald Hoffmann. 

  • Parish Grant

    Dr. Carol Parish has received a grant from the American Chemical Society Petroleum Resarch Fund for her project, An Atomistic Inquiry into the Driving Forces for Nano-Aggregation and Cluster Formation in Asphaltenes.

  • Norris Grant

    Dr. Michael Norris has received a grant from the American Chemical Society Petroleum Research Fund for his project, Systems for CO2 Conversion to Value-Added Products with NADH Mimics.

  • Gupton Named ACS Fellow

    Dr. John Gupton was named to the 2017 class of American Chemical Society Fellows, which includes scientists who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in chemistry and have made important contributions to ACS, the world’s largest scientific society.

  • Gupton Article

    Dr. John Gupton and collaborators, including several undergraduate students, published “Ortho Group Activation of a Bromopyrrole Ester in Suzuki-Miyaura Cross-coupling Reactions:Application to the Synthesis of New Microtubule Deploymerizing Agents with Potent Cytoxic Activities”, in Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry.

  • Pollock Grant

    Dr. Julie Pollock received a grant from the Jeffress Memorial Trust for her research project, Experimental and Computational Investigations of MEMO1 and its Role in Breast Cancer.

Feature Stories

Research BoomArjun Jaini, '18, is working on a sensor for detecting a wider range of explosives.
Tales From SpaceLeland Melvin, '86, takes us behind the scenes of his book tour for his memoir Chasing Space.

Contact the Department

Mailing address:
Chemistry Department
Gottwald Science Center B-100
28 Westhampton Way
University of Richmond, VA 23173

Phone: (804) 289-8242
Fax: (804) 289-1897

Chair: Christopher Stevenson
Administrative coordinator: Tanya Wagner